Rapid Assessment in Selecting Ten Kabupaten in Aceh that are the Most Vulnerable Toward Disaster, Dec 2009 to Jan 2010

Indonesia is the most frequent country affected by the disaster, suffering from flood until drought, which very often caused property losses and soul. So does with Aceh, as one of provinces Indonesia located in the tip of Sumatra Island. Further, dengan devastated disaster Tsunami 26 December 2004, had destroyed a bigger part of Aceh. After the disaster, there were a number of efforts implemented by the government and donors from all over the world to restore the condition of Aceh to the better level. These efforts if in term of reconstruction namely reconstructing by implementing precaution and mitigation activity as limitless activity.

The effort of desaster mitigation, currently is being encouraged in Aceh, one of those is conducting community-based disaster risk reduction activity (CBDRR). As the first stage, the government of Aceh will select 10 Kabupaten out of existing 23 kabupaten, that will implement the activity. The selection of 10 kabupaten is based on technical consideration viewed from potentially catastrophic conditions, disaster history, vulnerablity, and its capacity. From the existing 23 kabupaten, namely: Aceh Besar, Aceh Utara, Aceh Timur, Pidie, Aceh Selatan, Aceh Barat Daya, Aceh Tenggara, Aceh Barat, Bireuen, Aceh Singkil, Aceh Tamiang, Nagan Raya, Gayo Lues, Aceh Tengah, Simeulue, Subulussalam, Bener Meriah, Kota Lhokseumawe, Pidie Jaya, Kota Langsa, Aceh Jaya, Kota Banda Aceh, and Kota Sabang, will select 10 kabupaten that are considered the most vulnerable toward disaster and needs to undertake CBDRR activity.

TDMRC-Unsyiah, as the center of disaster research and partner in the activity of research and its development of Aceh Province, was mandated to conduct election analysis commenced in October 2009. The most important matter in selecting 10 Kecamatan namely weight determination (w). Based on condition, the most dominant disaster in Aceh in 2009 and after some discussions (important input) with the staff of local government, so the rank of disaster was as follow: (1) flood (0,64), (2) earthquake (0,23), (3) Lanslide (0,07), (4) Tide (0,04), and (5) tornado (0,02).

The data used to determine vulnerability (V) and capacity (C) are obtained from DIBA data which is the official data in Indonesia and can be accessed from its website. The measurement of these two variables are conducted following the procedure that has been conducted by RAD team of Aceh. Thus, 10 kabupaten which were considered vulnerable toward disaster namely: (1) Kabupaten Aceh Barat, (2) Aceh Selatan, (3) Aceh Utara, (4) Aceh Jaya, (5) Aceh Timur, (6) Aceh Barat Daya, (7) Aceh Tamiang, (8) Pidie, (9) Pidie Jaya, dan (10) Bireun.